Dave Martini, PE, has been sworn in as the 2022-23 President of the Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers (MnSPE). Martini, MnSPE’s 2021 Engineer of the Year, has previously served as president of both MnSPE and the National Society of Professional Engineers. Martini is a Senior Principal Engineer with Bolton & Menk, the twin cities’ largest engineering firm. Martini is the consulting city engineer for the cities of Deephaven, Greenwood, Mayer, Woodland, and Maple Plain. Martini lives in Shakopee.

David Fautch, PE, was elected 2022-23 vice-president of MnSPE and will become the organization’s 2023-24 president. Fautch also represents Minnesota in the National Society of Professional Engineers House of Delegates. He is a Senior Project Manager at IDOM, a multinational engineering firm. Fautch supports new facility and expansion projects across the country. He is licensed in 9 states and holds two US Patents. Fautch lives in Hugo.

Jennifer Lowry, PE, was elected MnSPE Board Secretary for 2022-23 and is the MnSPE Board Liaison to Minnesota MATHCOUNTS.  Lowry is the Principal Professional Engineer for traffic operations at the City of Minneapolis and is engaged in daily traffic operations including the Traffic Safety Group.

Matt Michel, PE, continues in his role as Treasurer of the 83-year-old organization. Matt is President and CEO of Universal Engineering Services. He has a strong commitment to improving the efficiencies and safety of equipment used to fulfill societal needs such as energy demands and raw material supplies. Matt lives in the St. Paul area.

Kerby Nester, PE, was MnSPE President in 2021-22, and now serves the organization as its past president. Nestor is licensed in three states and is a senior manager, Transmission Line Engineering, for Xcel Energy. She lives in Mound.

Daniel Peterson, PE, is the MnSPE board liaison to the Federation of Engineering, Science, and Technology Societies; he lives in the Northfield Area.

Jason Femrite, PE, was elected to his first term on the MnSPE board. Femrite is a principal engineer in Bolton & Menk’s Mankato office.

Darin Mielke, PE, is the Assistant Public Works Director and Deputy County Engineer at Carver County Public Works. Mielke lives in Waconia, MN.

Karl Biewald, PE was elected to his second term on the MnSPE Board of Directors. Biewald is a product design engineer at St. Paul’s AXN|RXN Engineering LLC and lives in West St. Paul.

Lynne Gunderson, PE, Principal Operation Support Consultant, Energy Supply for Xcel Energy was elected to her first term on the MnSPE Board. Gunderson lives in Ham Lake.

Brian Malm, PE, is a principal engineer in Bolton & Menk’s Rochester office.  Malm, was named the next vice president of the National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE) in an induction ceremony held in June 2022. Brian has served MnSPE for more than 20 years and was elected to the NSPE Board of Directors in 2020 and was named an NSPE Fellow in 2021 for his many years of distinguished service.


The Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers has been the voice of the state’s Licensed Professional Engineers for more than 83 years. The organization’s members are dedicated to developing and maintaining public health and safety through their work on the state’s infrastructure. To become licensed, engineers must complete a four-year college degree, work under a Professional Engineer for at least four years, pass two intensive competency exams and earn a license from their state’s licensure board. Then, to retain their licenses, PEs must continually maintain and improve their skills throughout their careers.